It’s June, and I’ m not tired of being brave!

It’s June, and I’m not tired of being brave!  Almost one year is gone  here in Astana and I’m pleased to say that I survived the hardest winter I’ ve ever experienced  in my life. Although the locals say that this past winter  was quite mild and some of them -the  younger generation -said that it was one from the rare winters that they saw so much snow. The temperature is so low and the wind so fierce that every drop of water is transformed to ice. The latter is the trickiest thing, because it’s impossible to make more than 10 steps and to avoid seeing the sky in a panoramic view.For the next winter, I will prepare myself better. I will buy some more t-shirts and summer clothes for the interior spaces. It’s boiling hot inside for a wool jumper –  I was so foolish to buy so many.  And the next thing and most important,  I have to get shoes with embedded nails. Apart from the practical things for surviving in a new and tough place, speaking only in terms of weather, I have to say the locals-Kazakhs people- are the sweetest people I’ ve ever met. I have enough experience of foreign places and behaviours and I understand very well, the reasons of their attitude towards me : Firstly, the Kazakhs people  want very much to open their borders to the Western countries and  secondly, it’s always the same story : Our attitude towards other people is a reflective game.

Enjoy the following pictures showing Astana through seasons.

IMG_2899

The river is totally covered by snow. See above and below it is the same exactly place.

P1070247

P1070122

P1050791
P1060472

P1050984

IMG_2619

P1050864

IMG_2745

P1050868

6 thoughts on “It’s June, and I’ m not tired of being brave!

  1. εισαι ηρωιδα!! μια και πηγες απο το ενα εξτρεμ στο αλλο.. αλλα καποτε ολα εχουν ενα τελος. αλλα οι αναμνησεις μας θρεφουν μια ζωη

  2. Μαργαρίτα, καθώς έγραφα αυτό το ποστ σε σκεφτόμουν, ειδικά τα παπούτσια με τα καρφιά… Δεν ξέρω αν είμαι ηρωίδα, αλλά τελοσπάντων τα κατάφερα την πρώτη χρονιά και από ότι ξέρεις πάντα η πρώτη χρονιά είναι δύσκολη μετά κάπως βάζεις το νερό στο ρυάκι.

    • Ritsa, σε ευχαριστώ πολύ! Και στο wordpress είναι δύσκολα αν μπω γιατι δεν παίζει στα Σταν. Ολα γενικώς και ειδικώς θέλουν μια ειδική μανούβρα😉

  3. Σε είδα στο εφημεριδάκι της Ρίτσας και τσίμπησα μια και παρατήρησα πως έγραφες για το χειμώνα στην Αστάνα.Αλλά αν δεν ζήσεις Μόντρεαλ, δεν έχεις ζήσει αληθινό μακρύ, ανερυθρίαστο χειμώνα. Ελα να σου δείξω τα κόλπα!!! καλοκαιρινά από μέσα, γούνα απ΄έξω.
    Καλό καλοκαίρι!!!

  4. Καλώς το το Justinaki, τα μαθαίνω σιγά σιγά. Η γούνα είναι ένα must εδώ- δεν έχει ούτε φιλοζωους να σε κράζουν ούτε τίποτε … είναι τόσο το κρύο εδώ που ούτε τους περνάει από το μυαλό ότι μπορεί να είναι άγριο το σπορ…Καλό καλοκαίρι και σε σένα!

Comments are closed.