Pippa, Me and Joseph Pilates

There are some things in life that makes you feel hyper instantly -just with one clap. Ι felt like this, when I  read Pippa  shares the same hobby with me. I knew it from the first moment, when I saw her from behind  holding her sister’s dress. Instinctively, I knew that  she and I have something in common (all but the bum).

She was so perfect that day,  I felt I wanted to share something with her,with the same way that  I felt proud when another girl,  in ‘higher rank’ than me, was wearing  the same  cardigan, bag etc.during those years of innocence.

Thanks to English tabloids, I found out that Pippa and I are more than keen in strengthening our core muscles,in other words doing Pilates! This business with Pilates is a bit like going to blind date.You have to find these  muscles called as ‘core muscles’ and keep your back in a ‘ neutral position’? !. But if you get it right,  without suffering for months  the wolf’s  neck syndrome, you feel great and full of energy.

During my ballet’s days(add up to 9 years in total) some years ago , Pilates was a ‘must’ warm-up exercise  before wearing our pointe and swirling around. But of course, as little girls, we didn’t know anything about the name ‘Pilates’, we were just following Mrs. Vera’s instruction(our ultra-disciplinarian Russian ballet teacher).

It’s three years now that I’m into Pilates and I have really seen the difference in my body (and of course Pippa’s)!

The principles of Pilates according to Joseph Pilates (and the free information on Internet, bless the Wikipedia)   are:

Concentration

Pilates demands intense focus: “You have to concentrate on what you´re doing. All the time. And you must concentrate on your entire body”.

Control

Contrology” was Joseph Pilates’ preferred name for his method and it is based on the idea of muscle control. “Nothing about the Pilates Method is haphazard.

Centering

The center muscle of the body  is the focal point of the Pilates Method.

Flow of efficiency of movement

Once precision has been achieved, the exercises are intended to flow within and into each other in order to build strength and stamina.

Precision

The focus is on doing one precise and perfect movement, rather than many halfhearted ones.

Breathing

Proper full inhalation and complete exhalation.

I’m not sure, if everytime I’m doing pilates I’m succeeding in doing right all of the above, but I’ trying my best and I think I’m on the right path.

Perhaps, I have to share my experience with Pippa,  who at the moment has stolen the front stage from Kate despite her Prince. I’m suspecting the sisterly competition just started (if it has ever stopped ) in Middleton  family.

2 thoughts on “Pippa, Me and Joseph Pilates

  1. ”pilates” είναι φοβερή γυμναστική….όχι μόνο σε γυμνάζει αλλά ”ξεκλειδώνει και το σώμα”..τεντώνεται η πλάτη (που κοντευω να σκευρώσω απο τη στάση μπροστά στο pc)και με όλες αυτες τις ανάσες όχι μόνο γυμνάζεσαι αλλά χαλαρώνεις κιόλας!…τώρα που έμαθα πως κάνει και η pippa θα επειδωθώ με μεγαλύτερο ζήλο!😉 …τα φιλιά μου Πηνελόπη!!

  2. Και εσύ φαν Μαρία?? !!! Τώρα που είναι και η Πίπα (μα τι όνομα και αυτό,ευτυχώς που δεν είναι ελληνίδα😉 ποιος μας πιάνει… φιλιά

Comments are closed.