The Book Launch

 The time of the Book Launch is looming as well as the realization that writing a book isn’t anymore a solitary path, safe and secure like a womb. The other day I felt a cramp in my stomach when I saw my agent’s email on the screen saying:

The book launch  is going to take place on 1st October at ‘Public’ in Syntagma. Full Stop.  There will be a panel of authors, journalist etc and the subject of the discussion will be about “Blogs, Women, Books and Abroad”.Full Stop .You need to come and read some parts of your book in front of the audience  Katerina

I had no idea what was the ‘Public’? I knew ‘Syntagma’ and this sounded impressive! The ‘Johnny and Me’ in the central square of Athens in front of the Greek Parliament wow!! But the cramp in my stomach was due to the last line “…read parts of the book in front of the audience”.

Back to the screen writing

Dear  katerina

“I presume this is a joke,  because the thought of  me reading in front of an audience can  only happen  with the outfit of a bank’s robber– balaclava- or  after consuming a half bottle of whisky .Full stop. Think something more realistic.”

The above was my immediate response to my agent’s e-mail and straight away I went to the safety place –think tank – put the kettle on for a tea and think. So far the situation with the book was safe. I wrote the book and thoroughly enjoyed the process. The next stage, which was reading the print copy was equally amusing before going to sleep. I had created a book that I wanted to read and so far I was happy and safe. Everything was private and personal; nobody was involved except me, my book and my jokes. I stopped to read it when the publisher sends me a copy of the real book. My first reaction was to feel sick but still, I got used to it. My timid step to publicity was the blogosphere. I created a blog and started to post some parts of the book. At the beginning I felt nice, nobody has noticed it, no comments, no visits, perhaps, because I didn’t know then about counters etc. Everything was perfect and safe! After a while I realised as I was crawling through the blogs that everybody had posts with full of comments and visitors. Everybody was popular within their circle. Then as always happens to me throughout in my life my big internal enemy -my shyness- was replaced by boredom.

Suddenly one day I saw 1 comment saying

‘Your writing is  nice and  elegant ….  You could be a columnist …etc.’ So Far. 

I was surprised, flattered and again not sure how to respond and start a dialogue with this lady named So Far whose blog I liked very much.  So my response was a dry and perhaps an arrogant ‘thanks’ which leads straight back to the safety net.

The rest is history …

At the moment I feel anxious but the thought that I will be back to Athens soon gives me a great sense of happiness.

37 thoughts on “The Book Launch

  1. Meropaki δήλωσε ‘αναβολή λόγω Τζόνι΄ θα καταλάβουν😉 Πες στο μικρό sunshine να έρθει για να λάμψει η αίθουσα
    φιλί

  2. Μα καλα χαθηκε να το κανανε 1 Σεπτεμβρη; Μα τι αναποδο timing ειναι αυτο!!! Θα δω αν μπορω να στειλω καποιον να με εκπροσωπησει.. χμμμ.. δε φανταζεσαι ποσο θα ηθελα να ειμαι εκει. Οπως και ναχει οχι ειμαι σιγουρη οτι ολα θα πανε καλα αλλα με τοση συμπαρασταση απο την μπλογκο-οικογενεια σου θα ειναι μια ξεχωριστη μερα. Σε φιλω γλυκα καρδουλα!

  3. Ελα ντε … Τες πα, στείλε τη Μαργαρίτα να ανταλλαξουμε πληροφορίες😉 και όποιον άλλο θέλεις… Φιλί

  4. Α ναι, να είμαστε όλοι εκεί γιατί η Πηνελόπη ποιεί τη νήσσα και τάχα μ’ έχει χάσει το διαβατήριό της, οπότε να καλύψουμε εμείς τν απουσία της για να μην το καταλάβουν οι εκδότες της😛

  5. Τς τς τς!!!
    Τι παλιοκαμηλιέρης!!!
    :ppp

    (κανόνισε να μην έχεις δουλειά, εσένα θα βάλω να την αντικαταστήσεις!!! 😛 )

  6. Θέλω να δω πως θα μεταμφιέσεις την καμπούρα της γκαμήλας για να μην προδώσει αυτό το μεγαλοφυές σχέδιο😛

  7. Καλή επιτυχία και από έμενα! Εγώ πάλι δεν το έχω διαβάσει ακόμα το βιβλίο σου, αλλά θα το κάνω μόλις κατέβω στην Ελλάδα. Εξάλλου είμια σίγουρος ότι θα δω και κομμάτια παρόμοια με αυτά που έχω ζήσει από φίλους εδώ στην Αγγλία.

    Καλό βράδυ!

  8. Ndn ναι και λίγο παραπάνω τα παρασκήνια θα έλεγα της ζωής των Αγγλων. Σε ευχαριστώ παρα πολύ

  9. Θα είμαι και εγώ εκεί!
    Despinarion, αναλαμβάνω την εκπροσώπευσή σου! Θα είναι τέλεια …το νοιώθω!
    Με το καλό να μας έρθεις🙂

  10. Ω τι χαρά! Σε ευχαριστώ τόσο πολύ Radio Marconi για την τιμή που μου κάνεις.
    Θα σας δω από κοντά λοιπόν🙂

Comments are closed.